Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Help with showing the difference in two lines of input Post 302167518 by Kweekwom on Thursday 14th of February 2008 04:34:05 PM
Old 02-14-2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Klashxx
Supposing one line per file:
Code:
awk '
NR==FNR{sub(/\n/,"");a1[$0]=$0;next}
{sub(/\n/,"");a2[$0]=$0;if ( ! ( $0 in a1 ) ){print "In file 2 but not in 1:"$0}}
END {for ( i in a1 ) 
    if  ( ! ( i in a2 ) ) {print "In file 1 but not in 2:"i}
}' RS=' '  f1 f2

Thanks for looking into it Klashxx,

When I try your suggestion, and say I input these numbers:

255 256 280 290

I get this error:

awk: cmd. line:6: fatal: cannot open file `255' for reading (No such file or directory)

It always says it can't open the first number. I'm not good with awk, do you see where the problem is?

Thanks,

Kweekwom

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

word count showing wrong number of lines

Hi , I am using SUN OS Version 5.6. I have a file that contains records of length 270. when I do 'set nu' in vi editor, I get the count as 86. whereas when I do "wc -l" on the command prompt, it shows the count as only 85. this is very strange. why would the 'wc' show 1 record less. The job... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: tselvanin
3 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

counting lines and showing the output

First time poster - I have a huge file and i want to sort and compress it to something more readable Ex: FUTNCA01-SL1 DMT8a4 5 3 FUTNCA01-SL1 DMT8a4 5 9 FUTNCA01-SL1 DMT8a4 5 21 FUTNCA01-SL1 DMT8a4 5 22 FUTNCA01-SL1 DMT8a4 5 23 FUTNCA01-SL1 DMT8a4 5 24 FUTNCA01-SL1 DMT8a4 6 2... (13 Replies)
Discussion started by: jjoves
13 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

awk help in calulating difference for last two lines