Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting eval problem.. advice needed! Post 302166767 by Cactus Jack on Tuesday 12th of February 2008 06:15:55 PM
Old 02-12-2008
eval problem.. advice needed!

Hi I need some major help with eval

I have a statement using eval:
Code:
read input
eval variable$input=”something”

Now I want to use the “variable$input” in some commands but I don't know how to call it without replacing the $input with the command line value (which I obviously can't do).

e.g. when I try
Code:
echo `eval $variable$input`

Can you tell me what I am doing wrong?

I get an error saying command not found.

Can someone please help!!!

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Linux

programming advice needed....

i'm a grad student taking a UNIX course and a networks course (i have a background in C++ and JAVA). i'm trying to combine the two classes. My questions stems from a networks programming homework assignment below: "Using the operating system and language of your choice, develop a program to... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: trostycp
5 Replies

2. Solaris

Using San storage - advice needed

Thinking of using our San for network backups.. Have a Netra 240 being installed and planning to get some space on our San. Do you know what software is used to access the San from my server or what I would need to do? I know how to connect to local storage, disk arrays etc but not sure what... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: frustrated1
1 Replies

3. Linux

GUI builder advice needed ......

Hello all, I need to develop an application that would be used as a simulator to test various custom algorithms. As I have never embarked on this kind of work, I need some advice: 1. Which GUI library to use in Linux, GTK+ or FLTK? The simulator application needs to output various... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: fox_hound_33
2 Replies

4. Filesystems, Disks and Memory

LVM resizing advice needed