Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Help on how to call a utility from script Post 302158533 by innocent on Tuesday 15th of January 2008 05:56:53 PM
Old 01-15-2008
Help on how to call a utility from script

Hi,

I am new to shell scripting (sh)
I need a script which will call a utility & once u call it.It will ask for inputs on the screen.These inputs it needs to get or read from a txt file.

for e.g
#! /bin/sh
while read line
do
echo $line
done

txt file will have
test
01/01/2008

pls can u help me on how to call any utility or program from script and read file for inputs.

Thks in adv.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

cdrdao utility script

friends, i love ya... i wrote a script to automate using cdrdao to burn an audio cd from mp3 files, using the great tutorial at http://tldp.org/HOWTO/MP3-CD-Burning/index.html (check out the site, i believe that it's very well-written). i messed around with it and got to a place where i felt... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: snwright
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

sort utility in script ?

Hi friends, I want to use sort command in script. I used the following syntax in my scipt, sort -t '|' +3 tempcdrext4.cdr > temp.mocdr It give me a error " Input file specified two times." but this command work fine in the prompt without any problem. Can sombody please tell me who... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: maheshsri
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Need help on SCRIPT(1M) utility

Hi All, I need to do a lot of manual entries at shell prompt. So to collect the logs(each command fired in that session, i use "SCRIPT(1) : make typescript of terminal session" this is kool,but the problem here is that it saves the linefeed, and backspaces along with the commands in the log... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: amit4g
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Writing a Utility Script