Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: case command inside awk/nawk
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting case command inside awk/nawk Post 302150984 by vgersh99 on Thursday 13th of December 2007 08:25:18 AM
Old 12-13-2007
no, there's not. but you can emulate it.
gawk 3.1.3+ does support switch/case though.

Last edited by vgersh99; 12-13-2007 at 09:44 AM..

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

how to access values of awk/nawk variables outside the awk/nawk block?

i'm new to shell scripting and have a problem please help me in the script i have a nawk block which has a variable count nawk{ . . . count=count+1 print count } now i want to access the value of the count variable outside the awk block,like.. s=`expr count / m` (m is... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: saniya
5 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to specify 'not case sensitive' in regex (nawk, sed, patern expencions)?

Is it possible to make the search in regular exprecion or in matching parts of sed, nawk and others to IGNORE the case of the search string? I mean, like if used 'grep' with -i option: > grep -i "abc" file I would like to be able to do the same, say, by nawk: > nawk '/abc/ {print $0}'... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: alex_5161
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

using cp command inside nawk

Hello I have facing issue while using cp command inside nawk block. #!/bin/ksh my_name=$1 nawk -v my_name1=$my_name 'BEGIN { n = split(my_name1,names,":"); for (i=1;i<=n;i++) { print names; cpcmd = "cp " /tmp/test.txt" " ./sample system(cpcmd) } exit }' exit 0 i'am getting... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: piscean_n
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to use same variable value inside as well as outside of the awk command?