Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Parse a string in XML file using shell script Post 302148988 by matrixmadhan on Tuesday 4th of December 2007 01:48:08 PM
Old 12-04-2007
Code:
chomp(@inputfayl = `ls -lrt | awk '/SMSCDR/ { before = curr; curr = \$9 }END{ print before }'`);
   while (<@inputfayl>) {
      if (/CDR/) {
        $inputfayl=$_;
        print OUTPUT "$inputfayl ##########################################################################################\n";
      }
    }

The output of ls -lrt | ..
is going to be just one file... there is no need to process the @inputfayl,

that could be assigned to a scalar and used directly

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Parse String in XML file

Hello All, I am new to this and I need to parse an XML file. Here's the XML Input File: <Report version="1.2"> <summary fatals="0" testcases="1" expected_fails="0" unexpected_passes="0" warnings="9" tests="21" errors="0" fails="1" passes="20" /> <testresult... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: racbern
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Need help in creating a Unix Script to parse xml file

Hi All, My requirement is create an unix script to parse the xml file and display the values of the Elements/value between the tags on console. Like say, I would like to fetch the value of errorCode from the below xml which is 'U007' and display it. Can we use SED command for this? I have tried... (10 Replies)
Discussion started by: Anil.Wmg
10 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Parse XML file into CSV with shell?

Hi, It's been a few years since college when I did stuff like this all the time. Can someone help me figure out how to best tackle this problem? I need to parse a file full of entries that look like this: <eq action="A" sectyType="0" symbol="PGR" exch="CA" curr="VEF" sess="NORM"... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: Pcushing
7 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting