Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers How to move files while Taring.. Post 302144813 by preethgideon on Saturday 10th of November 2007 03:27:22 AM
Old 11-10-2007
Did you mean ?

tar -cvf TARZIP.10 Nov09/ --remove-file1 file2 file3

Note:I have around 15-20k files /folder

Thanks and regards,
Gideon.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to check files and move the results to differents files?

Hi, I am a newbie to shell scripting. here is my objective: 1)The shell program should take 2 parameters - ie-> DestinationFolder, WebFolder 2)Destination folder contains few files that has to has be verified and deleted. 3)WebFolder is a folder containing a list of master files 4)It... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: sandhyagupta
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

TARing multiple files at once

Hi guys, I'm trying to write a quick script to archive off some data once a week. So far I have got; DATE=`date +%Y-%m-%d` TARFILE=${DATE}.tar for file in `find /usr/local/DATA/in -mtime +6`; do tar -czvf ${TARFILE} ${file}; done The problem I have is it is going through the results... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: JayC89
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Script for Taring the all the folderand move into another server

I Need to run a Unix Aix Shell Script should contains 1)Find all the folders in the directory /fss/fin. 2)Tar the Folders. 3)Move the Tar folders into another directory /fs/fi which in server .s11003232sz.net 4)When user requests untar the Folders and move it back to the orignal... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: sreekumar
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Recursively UNTARing and then TARing back