Sponsored Content
Operating Systems Solaris How to correctly allocate size while creating FileSystem Post 302144618 by Smiling Dragon on Thursday 8th of November 2007 10:46:21 PM
Old 11-08-2007
I'm not 100% sure but I think you havn't saved your changes to the partiiton table there, so it's reverting back to the previous size.
Try saving the changes (I think it's using 'label' before you quit)

[edit] Also, leave slice 2 alone, don't newfs it or your could clobber the entire disk. You want to newfs slice _3_[/edit]

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. AIX

Creating a shared filesystem

Hi everybody, Is it possible to create a Shared Filesystem on Network to be accessed from 2 Systems? Both systems are AIX but with different versions. One of these systems is AIX 4.3 & the other is AIX 5.2. Thanks in advanced (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: aldowsary
8 Replies

2. AIX

filesystem size

i am new in the field 3months to be precise. how do i come up with size, i want to change for the filesystem? assuming there is enough space on the volume group. do i just assign any value? (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: freeman
5 Replies

3. Solaris

creating new filesystem

# df -h Filesystem size used avail capacity Mounted on /dev/dsk/c1d0s0 4.5G 4.3G 129M 98% / /devices 0K 0K 0K 0% /devices ctfs 0K 0K 0K 0% /system/contract proc 0K 0K ... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: seyiisq
4 Replies

4. Filesystems, Disks and Memory

Creating filesystem of 2MB size

Hi all, I would like to ask on how to create 2MB partition on a Compact Flash card. It supposed to be of FAT12 type, and the CF capacity is 4GB. I try to do the partitioning and specify the size as 2MB but the partition editor automatically resize it to 8MB. I know that this is possible and the... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: archayl
4 Replies

5. Red Hat

Creating filesystem on new LUN