Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Address of PATH variable
Top Forums Programming Address of PATH variable Post 302143183 by Legend986 on Wednesday 31st of October 2007 01:02:13 AM
Old 10-31-2007
And one more thing... When I'm trying the same on a Virtual Machine, the address doesn't change but it is giving me a constant address for the environment variable... Is there any specific reason for this?

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

passing ip address as a variable to script for ftp

Still a Beginner here .. Does anyone no how to get the IP address of the machine thats logged in (bearing in mind there will be others logged in) while they are logged in to the Unix server and pass this as a variable to a shell script so as I can FTP files to that machine via a shell script, at... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Gerry405
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

$Variable address in sed

I'm attempting to append a line after a specific address with sed. If I type in the address eg.3 then it will append after the third line. I can't get it to work with a variable though. Does anyone know how to do it please? sed '/3/a\ text' filename :) sed '/\$address/a\ text' filename... (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: Sniper Pixie
8 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Help on setting path variable

Hi there, I need help on setting the path variable. How can I set the path variable with Bourne Shell. My scripts goes like this, but did not work. #!/bin/sh PATH=/usr/bin:/usr/ucb:/etc:/export/home/zchen/home export PATH Thanks, Z (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: randomcz
4 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Getting the path from a variable

Hi, I am having a variable Like line="/dir1/dir2/gr3/file.ksh" I need to get the /dir1/dir2/gr3 alone. the no of directories may differ at each time. Please advice. thanks in advance. (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: vanathi
3 Replies