Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: su: user x does not exist
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers su: user x does not exist Post 302141962 by porter on Tuesday 23rd of October 2007 05:22:33 PM
Old 10-23-2007
You could the useradd command and specify the uid (often the -u argument).

Looks like your /etc/passwd is default or you have not configured whatever mechanism (LDAP or whatever) for accessing a remote user database.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Solaris

Change password - User does not exist

When trying to change the password with the command "passwd" it returns that the user does not exist. passwd <USER> passwd: changing password for <USER> passwd: <USER> does not exist This is a Solaris 2.5.1 system. (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: ryamada
7 Replies

2. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Validate if user and group exist

I'm kinda new to unix programming so bear with me... I'm running a script prompting a user for an existing user and group and want to be able to validate if they valid. Is there any code available? Any help or push in the right direction would help. Thank you, (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: thedon
2 Replies

3. Linux

Root user doest not exist

Hi All, I changed the root user home directory to /home/root for some testing purpose, afterwards the logged user name its showing "I have no name" instead of root and also when we want to su to root its giving root user doesnot exist, so I tried to add the root user then its giving root user... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: sasidarvarma
3 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Possibility of logging into linux machine when the user does not exist locally