Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Scripting Newbie
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Scripting Newbie Post 302141514 by ghostdog74 on Friday 19th of October 2007 10:52:11 AM
Old 10-19-2007
if you have GNU find

Code:
find /path -printf "File:%f - Owner:%u\n"

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Newbie - Need help in bash scripting

Hi there, I am a student and currently working on a project. I have a file that contains about 50 filenames. (1.txt, 2.txt, 3.txt ...). I would like to know how can I store these filenames into a variable using a loop? I would appreciate if anyone can help me. Thank You. Regards, Bib (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: coolbib
4 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Shell Scripting Newbie

I'm relatively new at this scripting game, just need to learn some basic stuff for data handling. My current need is to write a script that loops through a textfile of filenames, and for each file removes the first line and re-writes that file to a new name. In fact I could do with knowing... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: mattyjim2
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

scripting newbie needs help

I have written a script that will email a generic user when a device is "offline". I would like to enhance this by having the script lookup a contact's email and automatically add it to the MAIL_LIST. I am trying to lookup and return data based on a field common in two files File 1 ... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: irishluck66
0 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

scripting newbie... some help please?

hi all, i am just getting in to bash scripting, so don't be too harsh... i've created this little backup script, and it's just awfull... ugly, doesn't work like I want it to, the works. anyways, i was hoping some of you might help me improve it and learn a little in the process. what i... (13 Replies)
Discussion started by: jmd9qs
13 Replies