Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users Regarding "How to make a script as a command? Post 302141376 by mthiruna on Thursday 18th of October 2007 08:40:09 PM
Old 10-18-2007
Bug Regarding "How to make a script as a command?

Hi unix_guru(s),

How to make a shell script into a normal unix command?.

I'm always using shell to run a script(like $ksh demo.ksh).

I don't want to use this ksh at all time.

The script sholud run if i am typing as "demo" instead of typing "ksh demo.ksh"

Please, give me that trick.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

"./cofigure" and "make" turmoil

I am a Unix newbie and I downloaded some X11 programs. I have gcc, but I cannot compile the files. I NEED HELP!!!! :confused: (16 Replies)
Discussion started by: gnerd
16 Replies

2. Programming

how could i make a program mixed with many "|", "<" and ">"

I have written following code to do: ls -l | wc -w, it works: but when there are not only a single "|", if there are more such as: ls -l | sort -r | sort | sort -r, This program does not work, i want to know how could i deal with it when there are more "|", another situation is that, if it mixes... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: strugglingman
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Q: Recording shell script screen output using "script" command ?

Hello, I need to capture everything showed on a screen by a shell script which needs user interaction. The shell script performs commads such as rsh so normal redirection to a file does not work. I know there is a special unix command call "script" which records screen session but the... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: lalfonso.gomez
4 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to make a script run for a maximum of "x" number of hours only

How to make a script run for a maximum of "x" number of hours only (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: ScriptDummy
7 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting