Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting trying to add an option to view before executing? Post 302140711 by llsmr777 on Monday 15th of October 2007 04:14:43 PM
Old 10-15-2007
trying to add an option to view before executing?

I am very new to scripting.

I have the following script:

for i in `ls -1 | grep $1 | grep -v $2`
do
x=`echo $i | sed 's/\.New/\.Old/g'`
echo mv $i DONE/$x
done

This is taking files from the directory I am in and changing the name from .New to .Old and then echoing the command to move it to a DONE directory.

So from here I want to know how can I add a little output that asks the user if what outputted to the screen is correct? And if it is go ahead and move and if not just cancel out.

Thank you for ANY replies!!

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Windows & DOS: Issues & Discussions

How to add Win2000, Win Me option to Lilo menu?

Hi All, I have installed RH Linux 7.1, windows 2000 and windows ME in the same machine. There are two booting menu: Lilo: Linux Dos Dos : Windows2000 WindowsME If I want to use windowME, I need to boot lilo and choose dos and final choose windows ME. Have any... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: wilsonchan1000
3 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How to add the landscape option...

to an existing print que? (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: NycUnxer
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

How do I add the option to change the path in a menu?

How do I add the option to change the path in a menu? I have this script. The user chooses a number and had the option of doing something, looking for log files etc. There is a possibility they might want to look at a different path other than what I have given them such as... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: taekwondo
2 Replies

4. Ubuntu

Add Option To Right Menu