Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Traps and Interrupts
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Traps and Interrupts Post 302138566 by porter on Tuesday 2nd of October 2007 12:07:31 PM
Old 10-02-2007
The terminology changes between processors and operating systems, this is one interpretation:

1. an interrupt is a signal from a hardware device to a processor that some even has occured, this allows the processor to service the device, an example may be a serial port that generates an interrupt every time a character is received or it's transmit buffer is empty.

2. a trap is a mechanism to get from user space to system space, typically used in a protected operating system to transfer control from a user program to the kernel.

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Filesystems, Disks and Memory

Does unix use interrupts?

I'm a freshman here and I have a simple question. Does unix use interrupts which is like Dos? Are they the same? Thx.:cool: (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: Frank_M
6 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

catching interrupts

hey i have been facing a problem,can you tell me if we can catch ctrl d in unix i have tried and sucessfully catched and disabled ctrl-c and ctrl -z but am not sure if we can do the same for CTRL-D, so got any clue mail on he forum or ...i mean c programming in Unix thats what i am working on (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: toughguy2handle
1 Replies

3. Solaris

SNMP traps

Hello I am trying to check that SNMP traps could be sent from one server to other . I am running this command from receiving server to see it can receive it /usr/sbin/snoop udp port 162 and on the sending end I am running this commad cst051 UDP D=162 S=1480 LEN=120 but i am... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Ajwat
1 Replies

4. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Interrupts problems