Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers How to List and copy the files containing a string Post 302138053 by radoulov on Friday 28th of September 2007 11:03:35 AM
Old 09-28-2007
Cannot reproduce,
could you post the output (or part of it) of the grep -l command (is there any output?):

Code:
grep -l '1189609240791-1268115603299237276@216.109.111.119' *

What shell, what machine(OS)?

Last edited by radoulov; 09-28-2007 at 12:12 PM..

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

copy and rename list of files

Hi all, I am a newbie in writng unix..I am using ksh shell..Does anyone know how to copy a list o files from directory A to directory B with differnt names? i.e in Dir A, I have RPT101.555.TXT RPT102.666.TXT and I want to copy those files to dir B with new naming convention.. in Dir B,... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: kinmak
7 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Copy string from files into new file

I'm trying to copy a string (myame@yahoo.com) from multiple files and save them to a new file. This is what's I've gathered so far: sed 's/string/g' file.txt > output.txt Not sure how to run this on multiple files and extract just the email address found in each file. Any help would be... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: rdell
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

find list of files from a list and copy to a directory

I will be very grateful if someone can help me with bash shell script that does the following: I have a list of filenames: A01_155716 A05_155780 A07_155812 A09_155844 A11_155876 that are kept in different sub directories within my current directory. I want to find these files and copy... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: manishabh
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

how to copy files followed by list of names of all the files in /etc?

....... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: pcbuilder
2 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting