Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting to create foder when the string matches Post 302137982 by maximas on Friday 28th of September 2007 04:45:21 AM
Old 09-28-2007
to create foder when the string matches

hi Smilie
im actually new to shell script ,see here is the program wat it will do is .. i have to create folder at the run time when the string matches ... what to do is im havin text file which carry the file name like ( EngCVer1pg1j01.TOP, EngCVer1pg1m08.TOP, EngCVer1pg1h04,..and EngCVer1pg2j01.TOP, EngCVer1pg2e05.TOP ... an some pg3 like tat .) .. but wat i hav to do is , i have to create seprate folder for each EngCVer1pg1 files seprately for each pg1 files .. and in tat created folder i hav to copy the pg2 files each one files accordingly ...

thank you Smilie HAS

Last edited by maximas; 09-28-2007 at 08:32 AM..

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

String in text matches folder name

Hi, I need unix shell script that can read the first column of a text file and matching each column string is a folder and i need to read files from the specified folder e.g Main.txt has Mike 690 Jhon 346 i need to read Mike first then open up the files in folder Mike in the same... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: shackman66
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Looking for a string in files and reporting matches

Can someone please help me figure out what the command syntax I need to use is? Here is what I am wanting to do. I have hundreds of thousands of files I need to look for a specific search string in. These files are spread across multiple subdirectories from one main directory. I would like... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: btrotter
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

creating folder when the string matches