Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Unix Career Path
The Lounge What is on Your Mind? Unix Career Path Post 302137763 by NycUnxer on Wednesday 26th of September 2007 06:44:29 PM
Old 09-26-2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by porter
Yes, but ideally not on the post mortem slab! This is an area where you need to be ahead of the game and able to foresee problems. You don't want to be reading tons of man pages at 2am in the morning trying to work out why your company's data disappeared.
Well, its just test development scripting I would be doing now. They mentioned they understand this would be a junior role, but nonetheless in the beginning it would be alot of modifying Unix scripts for improvement etc......

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. What is on Your Mind?

Career Path/Change - Cert Help

This is a very serious post. I am a Cell Technician (Cellular Base Station Tech) who is completely bored because my job has basically evolved into a Field Secretary position. I love working on T1's and troubleshooting equipment outages and so on and so forth but my job has become VERY... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: CoopDeVille
2 Replies

2. Programming

Unix Career path

Hi, I am having experience on Perl and C# and worked as Windows Sytem Admin and now iam planning to become a UNIX developer. I am having knowledge on basic UNIX.. can any one suggest me any good material for c/c++ UNIX programming. on what all things a UNIX Programmer needs to... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: chandrareddy1
0 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

What are the career options in unix apart from unix system administration?

What are the career options in unix apart from unix system administration? (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: thulasidharan2k
2 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Career path help