Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers recommended books for beginners Post 302136413 by briant on Monday 17th of September 2007 06:00:53 PM
Old 09-17-2007
recommended books for beginners

hi! what books do you recommend for someone like me who has no experience with unix?

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Programming

X-programming for beginners

Good morning. Thanks for the very valuable hard-to-find information I get from you guys. Can anybody give any suggested websites or references for anyone who wants to begin learning on programming applications in X? Thanks to anyone in advance... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: jfsuminist
1 Replies

2. UNIX Desktop Questions & Answers

unix course for beginners

does anyone know of a course for unix beginners (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: moose
1 Replies

3. UNIX Desktop Questions & Answers

UNIX for beginners

I am new to non Windows operating systems. Does anyone have advice on which UNIX OS vendor would be good for learning purposes. I was looking for a version of UNIX that runs on the Intel platform. Do you have any recommendations on where to purchase the software? Thank you. (14 Replies)
Discussion started by: jmy113437
14 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

awk beginners question

hi, i start using awk and have a very basic problem. here's my code: #! /usr/bin/awk -f # 2010, scz # { $1 == "test" { print $2 } } this works on the command line but not as "program" - what is the difference between awk programs on the command line and executing awk... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: svencz
3 Replies

5. Red Hat

Recommended Linux books

Hi All, What books do you recomend to have for quick reference in regarding to Linux administration and performance monitoring? Thanks for your insight. (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Beginer0705
2 Replies

6. Shell Programming and Scripting

Shell program for beginners