Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: help with finding a string
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting help with finding a string Post 302136264 by ghostdog74 on Sunday 16th of September 2007 10:40:32 PM
Old 09-16-2007
try to code up something first nex time
Code:
awk '/^8/{ 
          tochange=substr($0,4,6)
          printf "%s%06s%s\n", substr($0,0,3), tochange-1 ,substr($0,9)          
          }
     !/^8/{print}
' "file"

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Finding part of a string

Hi I am very new to KSH programming and need some help with finding a string in an error log currently i am doing cat FTP_LOG.lis | grep Warning which gives me Warning: Authentication failed. Remaining authentication methods: 'publickey,pas I want to only pick up the test between the... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: DAFNIX
4 Replies

2. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

finding a string in a file

hi all.. I dont know how to search for a string in a file.. I have tried doing.. I did google but didnt get effective answers..my code is as follows: int search(char* filename,const char* username,const char* passwd) { int flag=0; unsigned long fsize=0; unsigned long current=0;... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Ume1986
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

finding string at runtime

Hi I am creating a script in shell (sh), in which i will enter a string at runtime. let i will enter the string asdfergtdev_DEV2(or DEV,DEV3,DEV1 etc). i want it will find DEV2(it will be only find DEV2 at last 4 digit 3 in case only DEV,no metter if before it, there is dev) and append _qqq01... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: inderpunj
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

finding lines only between a certain string