Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting how to read a file using shell ?? Post 302136261 by ranga27 on Sunday 16th of September 2007 09:57:46 PM
Old 09-16-2007
this is not a homework can you please give me the sample code

i am new to this shell programming area .. designing a script for my work

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

How to read from a file in C shell?

Hi All, I want to read some number from a file into a variable in C shell as follows. I know that the syntax in ksh is read x < file name I dont know what's the equivalent for this in C Shell Can some one pls. help me out? Thanks in advance raju (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: rajugp1
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Read words from file and create new file using K-shell.

Hi All, Please help me in creating files through K-shell scripts. I am having one file in this format. OWNER.TABLE_NAME OWNER.TABLE_NAME1 OWNER1.TABLE_NAME OWNER1.TABLE_NAME1 I want to read the above file and create new file through k shell script. The new file should looks like this.... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: bsrajirs
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Post Shell programming: Question about source a file and read data from the file

This is shell programming assignment. It needs to create a file called .std_dbrc contains STD_DBROOT=${HOME}/class/2031/Assgn3/STD_DB (which includes all my simple database files) and I am gonna use this .std_dbrc in my script file (read the data from the database files) like this: .... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: ccwq
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

To read and separate number and words in file and store to two new file using shell

hi, I am a begginer in unix and i want to know how to open a file and read it and separate the numbers & words and storing it in separate files, Using shell scripting. Please help me out for this. Regards S.Kamakshi (2 Replies)