Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting regexp to get first line of string Post 302116773 by aigles on Tuesday 8th of May 2007 12:24:07 PM
Old 05-08-2007
You can try :
Code:
echo ""$file: `echo "$output" | sed -n 1p`"

Jean-Pierre.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

RegExp: From first occurrance to last (at line start)

So I have a log that contains something like this: What I want is to get the first occurrence of "^localhost0" (at line start) and then everything else up to the last occurrence of "^localhost0" (at line start) Ideally I don't even care about the 2 "localhost0" lines either. All I really... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: jjinno
6 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

print the line immediately after a regexp; but regexp is a sentence

Good Day, Im new to scripting especially awk and sed. I just would like to ask help from you guys about a sed command that prints the line immediately after a regexp, but not the line containing the regexp. sed -n '/regexp/{n;p;}' filename What if my regexp is 3 word or a sentence. Im... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: ownins
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

use regexp to insert newline within a line

I have successfully used regexp and sed to insert a newline before or after a line containing a matched pattern /WORD/. However, I want to insert a newline immediately following /WORD/ and not after the -line- containing the pattern matched. I can match a pattern, but it is matched via a wild card... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: kpeirce
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

...yet another string of awk/sed questions from a RegExp-Challenged luser %-\