Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Unix To Awk
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Unix To Awk Post 302105599 by aju_kup on Saturday 3rd of February 2007 06:04:36 AM
Old 02-03-2007
I think u want to use argument file name inside awk, for this you can use FILENAME variable in side awk to get the argument file name

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

UNIX awk help

I am new to UNIX and I need a sample awk or sed program to solve the following problem. I have a file with the following format. The file is comma delimited. Each record has header information followed by looping detailed information. In addition the detailed information will vary based on a... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: royayala
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

unix awk scripting

Hi can anyone pls help me out in knowing how a array of elements which are fetched from database is passed to the awk program. Something like this #!/bin/sh AMT=`sqlplus -s usrname/pswd <<EOD set pagesize 0 feedback off verify off heading off echo on select amount from... (11 Replies)
Discussion started by: shaik
11 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Clock in Unix using awk

Hey everyone! Can someone help me, i need to make a program using awk, that displays the current time (hh/mm/ss), i would really apreciate it! Thanks! Alex. (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: alex_omul
4 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

need help with UNIX and awk

Hi, I am working on a script where i am fetching a word from a parameter file and using it as output file name . here is the part of parameter file contents : it basically contains SQL statements. Select 'SSFNRTP' as TABLE_NAME,UCSTDT,CVOFIDKEY from (Select 'cofvof_interface' as... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: manmeet
2 Replies

5. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

AWK Help (New to UNIX)