Sponsored Content
Operating Systems Solaris make issue when I add some members into a NIS group on solaris 9,please help !! Post 302095823 by RTM on Friday 10th of November 2006 10:22:18 AM
Old 11-10-2006
Do all these bej00xxx accounts belong to develop group in the passwd file? If so, then they don't need to be listed in the group file.

Code:
grep bej00189 passwd
bej00189:2f3wdfsd93r:5001:200:develop account 189:/home/develop:/bin/ksh

So if bej00189's group is 200, which is equal to develop, then don't put that account into the group file under develop.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

NIS group vs local group

Hi everyone, I'm new to UNIX so plz excuse me if this sounds foolish Assume there exists a group 'xyz' on the NIS as well as on the local UNIX box. And we added the user 'test' to the local group. Which group priveleges will 'test' have? do reply.. thanks, VJ. (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: vjsony
3 Replies

2. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

solaris 9 php-4.3.4 make issue

compiling 4.3.4 i'm running into the following error: quote: -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Undefined first referenced symbol in file uncompress /usr/local/mysql/lib/libmysqlclient.a(my_compress.o) compress... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: xyyz
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

listing members of a unix group

I know there is a "groups" command to list the groups a user belongs to, but how about the opposite? Is there a standard command to find out which users belong to a particular group? (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: ovaska
2 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Solaris 9 NIS user creation issue