Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Script not waiting for user responce Post 302078909 by rdudejr on Wednesday 5th of July 2006 10:40:41 AM
Old 07-05-2006
Script not waiting for user responce

hi all,

Im fairly new to scripting and am having a noobish issue. Ive got a script that checks for certain directories and if they dont exist, prompts the user to do a mkdir. heres trouble spot in the script:

cat dirlsttemp.dat | while read dir; do

echo "$dir does not exist, would you like to create it now? (y or n)"
read responce
if [ $responce == "y" ];

then
mkdir $dir

else
echo "$dir has not been created"
fi
done
fi

what essentially happens is it does not wait for the responce and goes right to the else. i believe it has something to do with reading from the cat...but I dont know any other way to read that file line by line. Any solutions?

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

read-waiting for user response

Would there be any reason for why a 'read ans' would not wait for a user's response (i.e user has to hit a key to continue)? I know for sure that it is doing everything else in that part of my 'if' statement but it doesn't wait for me to hit a key before continuing. The strange thing is that... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: giannicello
4 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

booting up but the system was waiting for user interaction at console

Hi all, My ssytem is mounted on a rack and not connected with any console. When I rebooted it remotely, it didn't go thru the bootup process. when I connect my laptop to the system locally and found that it was waiting for user interaction. Do you know how to disable it, so that it will boot... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: stancwong
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Help with script, shutdown if no ping responce