Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Capturing some data from a file into a variable Post 302076849 by shiroh_1982 on Friday 16th of June 2006 05:39:22 AM
Old 06-16-2006
Thanks for the reply Vino...Im using the bash shell..

copied the code into vino.sh and when i ran that script got the following output:

./vino.sh

a b c trk_012345678
./vino.sh: typeset: unknown option: `-Z'
typeset: usage: typeset [-afFrxi] [-p] name[=value] ...
./vino.sh: ((: 012345678: value too great for base (error token is "012345678")
a b c trk_012345678
shiroh_1982

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Capturing value into variable

Hi, I am new to shell scripting, I am trying to write a shell script, which will automate the process of mailing the invoices at the end of the day. For major part I am using Oracle database function. The problem is I want to capture the value returned by the Oracle function into the script... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: prasad01
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Capturing Unix Traceroute data

Hi guys, I need a way to capture the host on the next-to-last hop in a traceroute output. The last output is the destination but I need to capture the router just before the last hop. I can do this in perl but I'm not so sure about Shell... I'm on AIX 5.3 using ksh any ideas? ... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: TivoliGUY
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

capturing the o/p to a variable

Hi, #Script mentioned below txt=($(echo `./demo1.sh`)) p=0 for p in "$txt" do col=($(./generateTable /import/data01/sri/Developer/SqlReport/Lab/23/${var} "$p")) . . . . done o/p displayed upon executing a script called "demo1.sh" is as below(two seperate lines):... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: villain41
2 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Capturing a value in to variable.