Sponsored Content
Operating Systems Solaris System not starting completely Post 302074777 by frankkahle on Thursday 25th of May 2006 04:44:09 PM
Old 05-25-2006
console does not give a prompt

I determined that there was a mount in the vfstab table that physically no longer exisisted. this just caused it to hang forever. Got past that problem.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

sun system not starting up

I was having some problems with my sun system so i did an Init 6. now it has been booting up for about 20 minutes and only gets as fare as stting default interface for multicast: add net 224.0.0.0 {gateway machinename}. any sugjestions on what i should do to fix this. (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Thump
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Completely new...

Hi there, I am completely new to this forum but it say's it's for complete newbies too :) I have some questions: 1: I want to learn Linux and some basic Unix commands. Is it best to install a text version of Linux/Unix? (to get to know the commands, instead of a shell app) 2: Are there... (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: Mecallie
8 Replies

3. IP Networking

Starting Home System with a Firewall

I'm a beginner to Unix System Administration and I'd like to start first by having a server setup as a firewall. What would be a good distro to do this with? I'll be running it on an old computer. I plan on using command line only with this box. Also, where can I start reading about doing this?... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: tr33
2 Replies

4. AIX

Starting web-based system manager?

How does one initiate this? (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: NycUnxer
1 Replies

5. Red Hat

Severe Error while starting the System