Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Can't login as SU anymore - SU: NO SHELL Post 302071560 by homechoice on Friday 21st of April 2006 03:33:12 PM
Old 04-21-2006
Error Can't login as SU anymore - SU: NO SHELL

the root shell has been changed in the file /etc/passwd, basically pointing to an incorrect directory. So now every time we login as 'su' I get the message
'su: no shell' so we can't login as superuser.

Is there an easy way to rectify this? please use step by step instructions/commands -

I know one way is to boot off a cd on the machine in single mode and then mount the root dir and then change the file...but I'm unsure about the command line. Is there any other way? I've tried linking the path, but permission rights stopped this.

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. HP-UX

cannot login after changing login shell

Hello Everyone, I am a newbie in unix. I was practicing shell scripts on hp unix machine. I changed my current login shell (Korn) to Bourne shell giving the following command. $ chsh username /usr/bash I am using secure shell client for accessing the hp ux server. After which i... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: hardesh
4 Replies

2. Linux

How to Start a Shell as Login shell instead of ordinary shell

Hi I tried with bash --login option. but the output is siva:~$ bash --login siva:~$ is there any way to make the shell ask for user id and password ( and login as different user instead of using sudo / su ) Thx in advance Siva (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Sivaswami
3 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Can't SSH as root anymore!

I've screwed something up in my sshd_config apparently, because I can't ssh with root anymore. I had disabled root login for security reasons, but then my ssh credentials with full administrative privelges stopped working. So then I reenabled root login (and reset ssh), but root now isn't... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: cquarry
3 Replies