Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Breaking strings into Substrings Post 302070597 by vino on Thursday 6th of April 2006 03:59:04 AM
Old 04-06-2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by switch
have been given a task to do a program in .sh,
Is it homework ? Homework posts are not allowed in this forum.

Since you have quite a bit, here is a little modification that you could use.

Code:
IFS="/"; while read file
do
set -- $file
IFS=":"
set -- $1

will become

Code:
while IFS="/" read day month year rest
do
MONTH=$month
YEAR=$year

Modify the rest accordingly.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

ksh: Comparing strings that contain spaces and working with substrings

Forgive me. I am very new to kornshell scripts. The simplest things stop me dead in my tracks. Here are two such examples. I want to save the first 19 characters of the following string to a variable. "Operation Completed and blah blah blah" I know this works (from another thread): ... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: nancylt723
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Extract large list of substrings

I have a very long string (millions of characters). I have a file with start location and length that is thousands of rows long: Start Length 5 10 16 21 44 100 215 37 ... I'd like to extract the substring that corresponds to the start and length from each row of the list: I tried... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: dcfargo
7 Replies

3. AIX

Substrings and the likes in AIX 4.2 ?

In AIX 4.2, are there any shell commands to do substrings and the text like manipulation commands ? I want to take an error log where errors are multi-ligned and convert them into single lines to ease tracking/monitoring. I may need to shorten them out too. If I can manage to put them into an... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Browser_ice
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

extracting substrings