Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers tar command with compress option... Post 29690 by tomapam on Thursday 10th of October 2002 09:45:53 AM
Old 10-10-2002
tar command with compress option...

Hi !

i have to write a script that archivs homes not used since 3 years.
First, my script gathers the users that are concerned, using the following command :

ll -lt /home/*/.sh_history | egrep '2000|1999|1998|1997' | awk '{print $3}'

i obtain a list like this :

user_1
user_2
user_n

Now i want to archiv each homes using for==>do,done with a tar (with compress option) in it....

Can someone give me the syntax i should use...i am not good at procedure writing...

thx

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

tar and compress

I need to compress and tar a couple files in a directory, but I also want the original files unchanged, ie if I compress a1.cpp , then a1.cpp becomes a1.cpp.z, but what I want after running the compress utility is to have both a1.cpp as it is and a1.cpp.z and then tar a1.cpp.z to an... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: muru
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Search, Tar and Compress in one line

Hi all, I am supposed to collect a huge amount of log files from a unix system (HP-UX) onto a local system. The log files are not in one place, but they are scattered all over the Unix server. The unix server has only limited space, so that I can not create a tar file first and then compress it.... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: bluesky099
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

compress directories with .tar extension

hi guys.. Since am a bit new to shell scripting, can anyone help me with this problem please.. i've been struggling with it since 2 days. :( I have a directory lets say myFolder and within it I have sub directories let say myFolder1.tar, myFolder2, myFolder3, etc. I need to write a shell... (12 Replies)
Discussion started by: kanexxx
12 Replies