Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: I'm a newbie (to UNIX)
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers I'm a newbie (to UNIX) Post 29311 by Optimus_P on Thursday 3rd of October 2002 09:17:14 AM
Old 10-03-2002
you can also do a search for post just like yours.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Programming

i can't use 'make' in my computer?

I need to compile a file,but 'make' does not work.please tell me how to use it or need which tools? (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: dsun5
3 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

If this isn't newbie nothing is...how do I start GNOME?

First off, I know this isn't a LINUX board, but I figured it was close enough that no one would get upset. Anyway, I have Windows2000 and Linux running dual-boot. That works fine, but when I boot into Linux all I get is a command prompt. How do I start gnome or kde? I read the manual, but I... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: jimmy
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Hi, everybody...i'm a real newbie

Hi mates.... i just got started...truely so...cuz i just borrowed a Unix for dummies from the library...wondering if i could go download a system to play with...but i don't no where....any suggestions? thanx a lot :) (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: PhilO_<
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Clearify what it means under 'WHAT' when hit the 'w'-command

I wonder how I shall read the result below, especially 'what' shown below. The result was shown when I entered 'w'. E.g what is TOP? What is gosh ( what does selmgr mean?)? login@ idle JCPU PCPU what 6:15am 7:04 39 39 TOP 6:34am 6:45 45 45 TOP 6:41am ... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Aelgen
1 Replies

5. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

UNIX PATH info required PLEASE HELP (I'm new to unix)