Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: telnet issues
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers telnet issues Post 29149 by cbkihong on Monday 30th of September 2002 09:52:35 PM
Old 09-30-2002
Re: re : inetd.sec

Quote:
Originally posted by yls177

so ipchains or iptables in linux (its just a matter of finding the correct commans in aix, hpux, solaris) then we can set all these rules?
Yes, if the firewall software supports the filtering capabilities you desire.

An iptables script is essentially a shell script placed into /etc/init.d. This is the documentation to iptables, which gives you an idea of how a packet-filtering firewall looks like and how it functions:

http://www.netfilter.org/documentati...ing-HOWTO.html

Of course you need to find out what firewalls are available if you use some other unix-based systems.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

telnet

hello there! :) i'm a newbie here...and i have a question, how can you logout while you're chatting in commode? thanx! :) (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: hapiworm
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

getting on to telnet

how can I get on to telnet keep getting the page cant be found:confused: (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: tamworther
1 Replies

3. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Telnet

Hi, When we use telnet (from unix workstation or windows) to remotely access the Unix server, the environment variables such as: DISPLAY, TERM, LOGNAME are communicate to the telnet server during the telnet session negotiation. By default these variables are passed to the server. We can... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: vtran4270
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

SU issues