Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: .rhosts and rsh command
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers .rhosts and rsh command Post 28940 by larry on Thursday 26th of September 2002 03:07:35 PM
Old 09-26-2002
mikek147,

I have looked in to that already. To my understanding if you DON NOT have any entires in your hosts.allow, hosts.deny or hosts.equiv. The deamon would look in your home directory for your .rhosts file if there were no entires in thoses files. This file should tell the deamon that the machine and hostname is OK and will grant permission. My question is why I'm I not about to do this even tho I have a .rhosts file in my home directory. Did I setup my in.rshd wrong. Should I add my user name in the /etc/xinetd.d/rsh file to the user? DNS is not a problem. I can ping to it ( the rsh to machine). ANYONE??

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Rsh command

Newbie here, I want to add a line to our 3D rendering scripts that will send an email to the animators once a scene has finished rendering. The 3D scripts are on the client hosts and the sendmail setup on the server. I tried using a rsh line in the script as follows rsh root@blah echo... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: flamethrower
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

rsh command

Hi, I'm performing a data migration from an Ingres db to an Oracle db. The ingres database lives on a unix host running "UNIX(r) System V Release 4.0 (SunOS 5.5.1) ", while the Oracle database lives on another unix host running "SunOS 5.8". Part of the migration is to remotely run Oracle's... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: strpeski
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

RSH command