Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting How to grep in order based on the input file Post 28776 by auswipe on Tuesday 24th of September 2002 10:35:45 AM
Old 09-24-2002
Re: How to grep in order based on the input file

Quote:
Originally posted by Kelam_Magnus

for name in `cat file.1 `
do
grep $name file.2
done > file.3
Does the "> file.3" on the outside of the done statement actually work? When I first saw the segment of code I thought, "Hey! He's gonna overwrite all those responses with an "echo done!"" Then I looked at it closer.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Copy input file based on condition

Hi, I am new to unix shell programming. I want to write a shell script for a functionality existing in mainframe system. I have one file as below as input 123456 &__987 &12yuq abcdef _ referes to blank condition:whenever the input file is having &__ ,it should be replaced... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: charan0703
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

grep for certain files using a file as input to grep and then move

Hi All, I need to grep few files which has words like the below in the file name , which i want to put it in a file and and grep for the files which contain these names and move it to a new directory , full file name -C20091210.1000-20091210.1100_SMGBSC3:1000... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: anita07
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Move input file based on condition

Hello, I have File1 in a directory A, a File2 in a directory B. If the File2 is not empty Then I have to move File1 from directory A to a directory archive Else no action. Is it possible to do this from one command line? Thank you in advance for your answers. Madi (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: AngelMady
2 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Order based on timestamp in a single file