Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Linking Directories...
Special Forums UNIX Desktop Questions & Answers Linking Directories... Post 27846 by floppiless on Sunday 8th of September 2002 02:28:40 PM
Old 09-08-2002
Question Linking Directories...

Hi there,

I am very new to UNIX. Currently, I am running Mac OS X. I set up a FTP server on my computer so that I can transfer files back and forth between my computer at home and at work. All my data and files are located in a directory in another drive, but when I log in, I would be in my home directory, which is another drive. I am trying to create a directory (link) in my home directory, which when I double click on it or cd to it, it would bring me to the directory located in the other drive.

I can do that under Mac OS X environment with no problem, but then, I think file structure with 'alias' is different from the Mac and the rest of the computing world. Because when I try to FTP to my account or using the Network Neighbourhood connecting from Windows, that 'alias' is a file instead of a shortcut to a directory.

Any suggestion for linking these directories would help. Thanks. Smilie

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Programming

Linking problem while linking to shared library

Hi I'm getting ld: fatal: option -h and building a dynamic executable are incompatible ld: fatal: Flags processing errors When I run ld -shared -L/usr/dt/lib -lDtSvc -o builtin.so Workspace.o after running gcc -fPIC -I/usr/X11R6/include -I/usr/dt/include -c Workspace.c I'm... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: laho
6 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

is linking possible?

how would i link 2 files together? is it the same as copying? (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: trob
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

check if multiple directories exist else create missing directories