Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Just getting started (beyond newbie) Post 26873 by F.O.G. on Sunday 25th of August 2002 08:08:57 AM
Old 08-25-2002
Computer Good Morning

Just OS X for now. If I get proficient enough fooling round in this OS, I might install a Linux system in one of my old machines, just for fun.

For now, though, it will be enough if I can manage my Hard Drive all by myself.

I've been dinking around in computers' innards since my TS-1000 in 1981. This is the first time I haven't had full access privileges to my own system. That's the only bad thing about OS X that I've seen so far. I understand why it has to be like that, but I don't have to accept it.

Happy Sunday,

F.O.G.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Just getting started

Can anyone tell me what the command Banner means or does Gibby9 (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: Gibby9
4 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How can I get started.

I am new to all this UNIX thing and have a system with the following specs: Pentium 1.7 GHz 128MB RAM 20 GB HDD Windows ME My questions are: Can install and run UNIX in such a system? Do I have to stop using Windows? Is there a safe way to get the necessary software online? ... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: ayalai
5 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

newbie wants to get started

HI, I am trying to learn UNIX, taking some online courses at work on UNIX fundamentals. My goal is to take a few classes and then hopefully setup something on a PC at home to practice with some form of UNIX. Anyone have any suggestions on good starting places as far as literature, or... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: roma33
3 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Help getting started