Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: copy syntax
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers copy syntax Post 24281 by _hp_ on Tuesday 9th of July 2002 12:34:52 PM
Old 07-09-2002
cp --help

that should explain it

8 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

copy syntax part2

hi again and thx for helping My problem now is that i dont know how to copy files beginning by "." (for instance : .profile) what syntax should i try? thx (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: tomapam
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Help with the syntax

export check=$(expandname $(dirname $(which $0))) (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: chandhar
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Help with the syntax

can anyone explain the code for me... i am new to shell programming while getopts ":S:D:U:" OPTION "$@" do case $OPTION in S) SRVR=$OPTARG;; D) DB="$OPTARG"; USEDB="use $OPTARG";; U) UID=$OPTARG;; :) MISSINGOPTARG="$MISSINGOPTARG -$OPTARG";; ?) if then ... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: chandhar
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Regarding syntax

Hi All, What does this mean ${#var} (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: krishna_gnv
2 Replies

5. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

What is in-core copy and disk-copy of i-node table?

I have found a question from the exercises of my study mat. The question is "Why are there a in-core copy and a disk-copy of i-node block and super block?" If any one know the proper answer then please send me..... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: dearanik
1 Replies

6. Shell Programming and Scripting

for ... do - syntax

hi! pls help me :) cd folder for f in *; do ... done this circle takes all files from folder1 i need only .pdf files but it may be like a.pdf or a.PDF what syntax must i use? smth like it: cd folder for f in *.(pdf|PDF); do (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: optik77
2 Replies

7. UNIX and Linux Applications