Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers How do I send a file as an attachment (gzip file) on a Unix system Post 23989 by lacca on Wednesday 3rd of July 2002 12:13:36 PM
Old 07-03-2002
I'm trying to send a mail from unix with a attach gzip file with the follow parameters:

Content-Type: application/x-gzip; name="xpto.txt.gz"
Content-Transfer-Encoding: x-gzip
Content-Disposition: inline;filename="xpto.txt.gz"
MIME-Version: 1.0

When I receive the mail in outlook and I try to decompress the file with winzip, give an error telling the file is corrupt.

What is wrong with these parameters ?

Best regards.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Send a *.pdf file as a attachment

Hi there, i am very new in the unix sector. (i work on HP UX, an Sun Solaris) i can write some simple scripts,..... but now i will wirte a script with "mail". i would like to send a pdf file to a mail recipient. But if i try it with "mail -s "email@adress" < "filename(with path)" it... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: scotty
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

HELP!!! how to send PDF file as an attachment using mailx

Hi, iam using the following command: uuencode file1.pdf file1.pdf|mailx - s "waz up?" xyz@domain.com Iam recieving an encoding error when i try to open the attachment. Pls help..very urgent!!! (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Brat
1 Replies

3. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

how to send file as attachment with mail ?

hello , i m new to linux/unix , well in my college their is linux server to which we all (i and my frnds) login , we can send mail to each other through command "mail" . but any one can tell me how can i attached a binary file with mail. we are using red hat , "pine ", "mailx" , all... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: alert_every1
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Reading Delimited file and send mail with attachment