Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers UNIX beginner - I need help please Post 2347 by JennyW on Tuesday 8th of May 2001 09:00:05 PM
Old 05-08-2001
Hi my name is Jenny.
I'm a very very big beginner with UNIX.

I've made Forms on my website, but need to add CGI to compliment them.

Presently, I don't have a host that supports UNIX.

Is there anywhere I can connect to a UNIX session for free?
If so, will they most likely have the latest version of Perl?

Let me know if I'm not making sense.

I have no idea at all as to where I can start learning about all this CGI/UNIX/Perl stuff.

Does anyone know of any really really basic tutorials? I mean, I'm so "left-in-the-dark" that I don't even know how to log-on or how I'm gonna be able to test my scripts.

Thanks so much for taking the time to read this.
Jenny

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Beginner: Securing a Unix box

Newbie in the Unix world here....trying to load Solaris 2.8 AGAIN, and trying to secure the box this time. Any suggestions anyone? Any tips? Appreciate your help, gurus! TIA, trigeek8888 (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: trigeek8888
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Unix beginner book help

Due to my new job I need to learn Unix to advance in the company and I am mainly a windows and mac user. What is a good book to get me started on the right path and hopefully prevent me from wasting money on several books and weeks of reading. Any response is welcomed thanks in advance. (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: windowsux
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Unix beginner. Need some very basic help.

Hey all I'm working on a script that will scour a directory of 6000+ files for a line that at the end has a number. Something like 'The number of outputs is: 39200' I'm trying to devise a script to add all of these numbers up, so far I have the grep statement that pulls out each individual... (7 Replies)