Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: deleting record file
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers deleting record file Post 2149 by yatno on Monday 23rd of April 2001 10:09:02 PM
Old 04-23-2001
Question

if in my file consist with record like this :

AAA1234567
BBB3314134
AAA1232134
CCC1231232
DDD0980980
AAA8098090

And I want to delete record
which substring(record,1,3)="AAA".

Is it possible to do that (deleting specific record) by unix shell script or perl without coding any high level language (like C or java).
if it is possible, what is the command/ statement ?

thank's for your kind answer.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

splitting a record and adding a record to a file

Hi, I am new to UNIX scripting and woiuld appreicate your help... Input file contains only one (but long) record: aaaaabbbbbcccccddddd..... Desired file: NEW RECORD #new record (hardcoded) added as first record - its length is irrelevant# aaaaa bbbbb ccccc ddddd ... ... ... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: rsolap
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Script to search a bad record in a file then put the record in the bad file

I need to write a script that can find a bad record (for example: there is date field colom but value provided in the file for this field is N/A) then script shoud searches this pattern and then insert the whole record into the bad file. Example: File1 Name designation dateOfJoining... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: shilendrajadon
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Script to search a bad record in a file then put the record in the bad file

I need to write a script that can find a bad record (for example: there is date field colom but value provided in the file for this field is N/A) then script shoud searches this pattern and then insert the whole record into the bad file. Example: File1 Name designation dateOfJoining... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: shilendrajadon
2 Replies