Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers new directory - how to force files created in it to inherit grp,own and permissions Post 20469 by avisb on Friday 26th of April 2002 03:04:44 PM
Old 04-26-2002
new directory - how to force files created in it to inherit grp,own and permissions

Hi, I'm new to unix -solaris.

I've just upgraded a third party software product and am testing
it to see if new files created in a test database directory were being created properly and they aren't. They're owned by the user that created the file, instead of poppa and the group of their files is not always momma - see below..

I created a directory and set owner, group and permissions on it as follows :

mkdir /tempdb
chown poppa tempdb
chgrp momma tempdb
chmod 660 tempdb

My question is - how do I force files created in this directory to inherit the owner and group and permissions of the directory itself ?

All users with access to log in to this sun box will need to share these files.

Thanks in advance if anyone can help me.
Is it umask I need or setacl ?
I've read the umask man page but it's a bit confusing.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Find all files created by a specified user in a directory and its subdirectories

Is there a command or shell script which can be used for Finding all files created by a specified userid in a directory and its subdirectories. Say, I want to find all such files in directory /abc as well as in all the subdirectories such as /abc/xyz or /abc/xyz/pqr aqnd so on which was created... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: abhilashnair
5 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Newly created files default group and write permissions