Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: motd for different users
Top Forums UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users motd for different users Post 20401 by PxT on Thursday 25th of April 2002 03:55:47 PM
Old 04-25-2002
I do not think there is a way to do it with the standard MOTD. You would have to write a custom script to handle it.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

MOTD File?

Anyone know how to change the location of the MOTD file from the default /etc/motd? An annoying person with root access has found out how to edit the file and change my MOTDs. Help me. (14 Replies)
Discussion started by: Rex00me
14 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Linux help on X and motd

Hie guys im new to Unix. Need some advise or favour perhaps. Iam running Red hat Linux 7.2 and as soon as i install with GUI and so done, i reboot the system. After i reboot it directly went to the GUI login. I able to login and do my stuffs. My question is how to hold the system not to directly... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: ###1tomato
4 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Dynamic MOTD

Hello all, I'm looking for a way to have motd display something different when users log in based on what groups they belong to. I'm network administratinng at a college and professors would like to have different posts come up to students when they log in based on the different classes they are... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: hoppese
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

replacing old motd with new motd

I need to replace the current /etc/motd text file with a new motd across 30+ servers. Which is the best way to do this? Shell script? sed? Does anyone have an example I can use? Thanks in advance. Unix people are the best!!! :) (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: antalexi
2 Replies

5. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

/etc/motd