Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: System Maintenance
Top Forums UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users System Maintenance Post 18842 by IMPORTANT on Wednesday 3rd of April 2002 03:33:51 PM
Old 04-03-2002
thanks a lot. I really appreciate your help

i need to ask one more thing.

see, one of my job is to perform filesystem maintenance. how exactly do I go about doing that. not to say that I am completely new to unix cause am not. I'am the same guy that goes by the name TRUEST.

now, how can file system maintenance be done efficiently.

when talking about log files and core files, what is the specific format to use to get this files and how do I know for sure that these files are not needed.

i really dont mean to stress you but judging from what you said about your job, I feel, you know and is experience in the job am into.

if you could give me some examples of how you go by your daily work. obviously am not asking you to teach me how to do your job. but any example derived from your daily job will be higly appreciated

thanks

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Quiet System for Maintenance

I have backups that run in a cron @ midnight. Does the backup utility make sure that the system is quiet --(no users are logged on) or do I need to add some stuff to make sure nobody is accessing those file while they are being backed up. (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: michieka
3 Replies

2. Post Here to Contact Site Administrators and Moderators

Board Maintenance

Just a remark now the board has grown to considerable proportion. I see too little of an active hand(s) maintaning the boards, clipping away dead posts, moving posts that were created in the wrong forums etc. It's a bit tiring to see alot of threads ending in: this has been covered before, do a... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: patvdv
7 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers