Sponsored Content
Special Forums Hardware Filesystems, Disks and Memory External Lacie USB hard disks Post 18779 by electrode101 on Wednesday 3rd of April 2002 06:18:33 AM
Old 04-03-2002
Question External Lacie USB hard disks

I'm trying to mount a USB Lacie external hardrive in my Linux system but am having trouble doing so, I'm also having trouble mounting my USB ZIP 250 drive.
It is totally me being stupid, but I'm new to unix and am having a few teathing problems.
the command I'm using is the following mount /dev/sda /mnt/ZIP & mount /dev/sdb /mnt/Lacie.
I have created the mount points in /mnt and the file system used on those drives is FAT32, is FAT32 compatible with Linux.
I'm running Suse 7.1.
please don't be afraid of giving me complex commands, I'm used to using DOS and Windows. Like DOS hate windows, but hey that's why I'm converting to Linux

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Solaris

External USB

Is it possible to install Solaris 10 on an external USB drive? I'd like to dual boot Linux and Solaris 10. Thanks! (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: otterit
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

mounting lacie hard drive to another suns system

I have two unix workstations. One crashed :( , but the other is still operating efficiently. We have a Lacie external hard drive attached to the workstation that failed. I would like to mount the external drive to the workstation that is still functioning. I am not very familiar with how to do... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Tmarsha6
1 Replies

3. Solaris

Hard disks in solaris

I need to insert a new hard disk into a Sun Fire v210 machine. The (only) internal disk which is already in the machine is part number XRA-SC1CB-73G10K (DISK DRIVE ASSY. 73GB, 10K RPM, with SPUD BRACKET). I also have nearly endless access to IBM hard disks at extremely low prices and would there... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: sprellari
2 Replies

4. Solaris

FAT32 usb external hard drive - how to mount??