Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Global PATH setting
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Global PATH setting Post 1870 by jxh on Wednesday 4th of April 2001 12:24:07 PM
Old 04-04-2001
Question

I am using Solaris 8 and I want to change the PATH setting for all users. I have edited /etc/profile, but when I log in and check the PATH variable, it hasn't changed.

Am I missing something?

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

setting global variable for all users

hi, i am a newbie unix administrator. i want to set a variable, let's say : alias cls 'clear' But i am not going to add this line in the .login file for every home directory of my 500+ users. pls tell me where should i put this line in, so that all users can use this variable after... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: champion
4 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Setting $PATH for a particular file...????

:) dear members; I am trying to placea directory to keep minor records in particular directories.. rather than just rely on hard links.. I would like to set the $PATH variable so that I can access the directory itself from anywhere; ex./ /tmp or /bin /var... I know how to export enviromental... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: moxxx68
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Setting path

Hi all, I have a java command in a shell script. When i m executing the command from the prompt its working fine. But when i paste the same command in a shell script and execute the shell script it says path not found. Please help. (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: radhika03
5 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

setting a global variable in script