Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: opening ports
Special Forums Cybersecurity opening ports Post 16606 by dryheat on Tuesday 5th of March 2002 10:28:09 AM
Old 03-05-2002
opening ports

I need to open a port in linux to allow a connect() from another box to succeed. I have the linux box listening on port 3000 on INADDR_ANY, and a Windows box does a connect to the IP of the linux box on that same port. The Linux box refuses the connection. I think it's because all the ports are closed except for the well-known ones. I want to open just port 3000 but I can't figure out how to do it. I don't want to associate any service or executable with the connection.

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Opening files

I am very new to unix. I want to open a file and read one line in at a time. Can anybody help? (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: saarshad001
3 Replies

2. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Opening CDE

I have installed JASS on one of my sun servers. I am now trying to open for CDE. For that I have done these steps: mv /etc/rc2.d/_S71rpc.JASS.* /etc/rc2.d/S71rpc mv /etc/rc2.d/_S99dtlogin.JASS* /etc/rc2.d/S99dtlogin but still no CDE. Any advice on this?? (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: encrypted
3 Replies

3. AIX

Opening ports

Hi guys, I need to open ports on my AIX machine. The only way I know is to use service name to disable or enable ports which are used by the services. I found in /etc/services that the ports are unidentified. Btw, I want to open port number 11576 and 11577. Need help on this one. Thanks! :) (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: raskita
1 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Opening TCP ports