Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: sendmail error :-(
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers sendmail error :-( Post 15781 by thehoghunter on Tuesday 19th of February 2002 11:26:36 AM
Old 02-19-2002
Sendmail error (found on Solaris 7 common error messages):
550 variable... User unknown
============================
This sendmail(1M) message indicates that the intended recipient, specified by the address portion before the @ (at-sign), could not be located on the destination host machine.

Check the email address and try again, perhaps with slightly different spelling. If this doesn't work, contact the intended recipient and ask for a proper address.

For information on how sendmail works, see the Mail Administration Guide.
thehoghunter

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

extracting sendmail: error

I'm a newbie trying to update an old sendmail 8.6 to 8.12.3 ftp'ed sendmail.org and got sendmail.8.12.3.tar.gz file size matches but when i: tar xvf sendmail.8.12.3.tar.gz i get: tar: directory checksum error tried getting others... ie. 8.12.2... ftp'ed using binary and saved in... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: sphiengollie
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Sendmail error

I have faced the following error : Feb 8 11:56:10 test sendmail: unable to qualify my own domain name (test) -- using short name I searched the forum and tested the required in the posts , but it doesn't work ... I have changed the IP and local host in /etc/hosts to be as follows : ... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: atiato
1 Replies

3. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Whe trying to start sendmail i getting following error