Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: sendmail error :-(
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers sendmail error :-( Post 15775 by Perderabo on Tuesday 19th of February 2002 10:57:18 AM
Old 02-19-2002
I can shed a little light here. That "MAA23665" sounds like a mail id. I would grep for that string in your mail logs which are often in /var/log/syslog.

And 550 is just a normal smtp error which is documented in the rfc.

But I don't know why you are getting an i/o error. I have never seen that error.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

extracting sendmail: error

I'm a newbie trying to update an old sendmail 8.6 to 8.12.3 ftp'ed sendmail.org and got sendmail.8.12.3.tar.gz file size matches but when i: tar xvf sendmail.8.12.3.tar.gz i get: tar: directory checksum error tried getting others... ie. 8.12.2... ftp'ed using binary and saved in... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: sphiengollie
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Sendmail error

I have faced the following error : Feb 8 11:56:10 test sendmail: unable to qualify my own domain name (test) -- using short name I searched the forum and tested the required in the posts , but it doesn't work ... I have changed the IP and local host in /etc/hosts to be as follows : ... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: atiato
1 Replies

3. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Whe trying to start sendmail i getting following error

Hi expert , When i trying to start sendmail i getting the following error : pls help me # ./sendmail start # 451 4.0.0 /etc/mail/sendmail.cf: line 77: fileclass: cannot open /etc/mail/local-host-names: World writable directory 451 4.0.0 /etc/mail/sendmail.cf: line 472: fileclass: cannot... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: saisivakumar
6 Replies

4. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Too many hops error in sendmail