Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Preserving Ownership w/tar
Special Forums Hardware Filesystems, Disks and Memory Preserving Ownership w/tar Post 14750 by Neo on Tuesday 5th of February 2002 10:53:26 PM
Old 02-05-2002
You cannot take preserve certain permissions (such as root) as a non root user. There are numerous security reasons for this limitation for non-privileged users in a multi-user enviroment such as UNIX.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. SCO

Add HDs while preserving the data

I am a 10 years windows person with basic unix training (very basic). I have a sco server where it originally had 3 physical drives. Drive 0 had to be replaced so I did that but because I am really new to Unix I was afraid to detroy the data on DRIVE 1 and 2, so I took them out when I loaded the... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: mhenry
3 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

create tar archive without preserving directory structure?

I am adding some individual files to a tar archive and would like them to be added to the archive without any directory hierarchy, even though the files themselves exist in levels of hierarchy. Unfortunately, tar seems to always preserve the directory hierarchy when it adds the files. Here is... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Special_K
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Preserving whitespace in a for loop

I obviously haven't learned my lesson with shell and whitespace. find /path/to/some/where/ -name "*.pdf" | awk '{print $5}'| uniq -d results: some Corporation other Corporate junk firmx Works fine from cmdline but the whitespace turns into another FS in a for loop. for... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: s_becker
7 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

tar -cvf test.tar `find . -mtime -1 -type f` only tar 1 file