Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Endless loop - Fork function failed? Post 14339 by thehoghunter on Wednesday 30th of January 2002 12:48:37 PM
Old 01-30-2002
Instead of looping, you are starting another child process which runs another instance of qhistory. The error is telling you that you can't do this anymore.

I can't tell from your code what scripting language you are using so here is a csh example:

#!/bin/csh -f
loop:
echo "Hostname: `hostname`"
mailq|head
sleep 5
goto loop
thehoghunter

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Endless Loop

Hi, I'm pretty new to UNIX shell scripting and need some help. We have an Informatica interface that dumps any files that have errors into a directory. I need to check that directory periodically for any of up to 9 files that might be in it and run a specific process for each file found. The... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: JeffR
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

[PHP] endless loop mimics a cron. Make sure only one instance is running

Hi, PHP user here. I'm using an endless loop to perform to mimic a cron. The script does something every 20 minutes. It sleep()s in the meantime. I have various checks that ensure that only instance can run, including a "gentleman agreement" locked file. However, I'd like to make sure... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: jjshell
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Preventing an endless loop with recursive grep

When finding a string in files within a directory, one can use this: grep -r "searchstring" dir/subdir/ > listofoccurrences.txt For brevity sake one can enter the intended directory and use this: grep -r "searchstring" . > listofoccurrences.txt which as I found out leads to an endless loop,... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: figaro
2 Replies

4. SCO

-sh: fork failed - too many processes in sco unix 5.0.5