Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Limiting access
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Limiting access Post 1312 by misha on Friday 23rd of February 2001 08:46:16 AM
Old 02-23-2001
Data

Hi, I'm new to linux and unix, and i have couple of problems:

1) how can i limit the access for a user, for example, i created a user, and i want that this user will be able to be only in one directory, and will see only the files i want him to.

2) I have a domain name, and i want that every time i type this domain name in the browser, it will be connected to my unix/linux server. (to connect a DNS with my own server)

10Q very much...

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

question about limiting the display from the ls command

hey guys im rly new to unix. im attempting to list the 5 largest files in a directory. so i got this far... ls -lR | sort -r and this lists all files by filesize, how can i limit this to only the 5 largest? (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: Aesop
4 Replies

2. HP-UX

limiting failed logins to three

I have tried limiting failed logins to three by the following method logins -ox \ | awk -F: '($8 != "LK" && $1 != "root") { print $1 }' \ | while read logname; do /usr/lbin/modprpw -m umaxlntr=3 "$logname" done /usr/lbin/modprdef -m umaxlntr=3 but it is failing on the 4th... any ideas?... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: csaunders
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

limiting data inputs for the user

if my user has to enter the name of months to carry out a search how can I limit the input values to only the month names and nothing else? so far my input criteria for the user is this: i would like it so the user can only enter the months in the way i have stated. otherwise they would... (11 Replies)
Discussion started by: amatuer_lee_3
11 Replies

4. HP-UX

Limiting SFTP Users While Not Limiting Regular Users?