Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: adding columns
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting adding columns Post 12741 by Kelam_Magnus on Monday 7th of January 2002 09:08:55 AM
Old 01-07-2002
Thanks it works great. I have been an Admin for about 4 years, but I am still amazed at the versatility of UNIX and the variety of commands that are available.

Another command that I had not used before is "vacation". A very good command if you send and receive email primarily from your UNIX box.

Smilie

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Adding columns in csv

I have the following data in FILE1.CSV: code: Amount1: Amount2: xxxxx ,, 200 ,,400 yyxxa ,,200 bbcgu ,,2500 ,,300 i want to be able to produce the following FILE2.CSV: code: Amount xxxxx ,, 600... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: chachabronson
7 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Adding columns to a file

I want to select the first column from a daily file called foo.csv. The result is written to file foo.txt. Currently the following script is used for that: cut -d, -f 1 foo.csv > foo.txt A typical result would yield : A12 A45 B11 B67 What needs to happen in addition is that two columns... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: figaro
5 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Adding columns of two files

Hello everyone, I have two files containing 6 columns and thousands of rows. I want to add them (i.e. first column of first file + first column of second file and so on) and print the output in a third file. Can you please help me. Thanks a lot (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: chandra321
7 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Adding lines and columns to a file